10 Things I <3 About My Childhood- My Generasi

Wow, it’s amazing how so much has changed in a mere decade. What happened to all the paper planes, Tamiya cars and country erasers that we used to play with, when we were younger? All rendered obsolete by technology, it seems. I can’t help but noticing that nearly every kid these days owns an iPad, smartphone, Nintendo DS (3D?!) or some equivalent device.

You see them everywhere, little children below 5 or preteens glued to their latest devices, on the MRT, or even in the playground (?!) Hey, when I was their age, I was busy kneeling on the train seat, gazing dreamily out of the window and watching the rail tracks zoom by! I can’t help but feel a little sad for these kids…for they’ll never get to experience the childhood that earlier generations of children did.

They may never feel the satisfaction of winning an arm wrestling match, or relish the excitement of playing HDB block catching with friends from the same neighbourhood. Really, how fun can it be to spend your day playing Angry Birds on the iPad in the morning, Dota on your laptop in the afternoon, and four hours sitting through English, Maths and Chinese tuition after dinner? Ok, maybe I exaggerate a little, but high-tech devices (and endless tuition sessions) have unknowingly robbed kids of their growing up years.

image

Recently, I watched this clip about primary school life in the 90s by JinnyboyTV , once again. My Generasi is Malay for ‘My Generation’. It’s a nostalgic lookback at the social interactions, games, candy and objects enjoyed by the producers in their primary school years. Having also attended primary school in the late 90s, I share many similar experiences, although only in early primary. However, watching My Generasi brought back many old memories and made me miss those simple, carefree times.

Although my generation are already in their late teens or early twenties, we still enjoy reminiscing about those times, sometimes even playing a match of country erasers or buying the occasional traditional biscuit just to relieve the memories. To all the children who do not have the privilege of growing up in the 90s, maybe you should try some of the games depicted in the video. Wouldn’t it be fun to put your iPad away for a moment and get out there to interact with someone other than your device and your online friends?

I’ve been inspired to make my own version of My Generasi, though in pictures, owing to my lack of video editing skills. Here are ten things I love about my childhood:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Watch My Generasi and listen to the soundtrack below. For behind the scenes footage and more, visit JinnyboyTV’s official website, http://www.jinnyboytv.com/?p=71


View on YouTube

One response to “10 Things I <3 About My Childhood- My Generasi

  1. Good piece, in my culture we all sorts of games! I can’t start talking about them now! I do miss my childhood days, and pity twenty first century kids!

Leave a Reply

